This is a limited sampling of faculty and staff publications, recognition and other professional work. Major awards, etc., are found under Top Stories or Campus News.


 Patrick Haney, political science. They Teach That in College!?, published by College & Career Press March 2015

Cover Image

Leland G. Spencer, Integrative Studies. Co-edited the book Transgender Communication Studies: Histories, Trends, and Trajectories, published by Lexington Books, February 2015.

Cover Image


Dana Cox, Nirmala Naresh, Jane Keiser, Suzanne Harper, Beatriz D’Ambrosio, mathematics, and M. Todd Edwards, teacher education, $348,631 from the Ohio Department of Education for "Project DOVETAIL. (Developing Ownership and Vision: Empowering Teachers as Instructional Leaders)." 

Dawna Meehan, psychology, $75,000 from the Ohio Department of Mental Health for "A Multi-Tiered Evaluation of the Efficacy and Effectiveness of the FLIP IT Parent Training Model."


 Quanyu Huang, German, Russian, and East Asian Languages, “A Comparison between Chinese and American College Admissions.” Invited presentation at the 2014 China MOE meeting for high school principals, session “Reforming College Admissions in China”

 Robert Bodle, (Media Journalism and Film) Adjunct Professor in the Department of Media, Journalism, and Film organized the workshop “Anonymity by Design: Protecting While Connecting” and presented “Anonymity is a Human Right” at the Ninth Annual Internet Governance Forum, September 2-5, 2014, Istanbul, Turkey. Bodle also chaired the workshops, “Human Rights for the Internet: From Principles to Action” and the “Council of Europe Open Forum – Your Internet, Our Aim: Guide Internet Users to Their Human Rights.” Bodle is Co-Chair of the Internet Rights and Principles Dynamic Coalition, which works to uphold human rights on the internet and to root internet governance processes and systems in human rights standards in the Internet Governance Forum (IGF) process. The annual Internet Governance Forum (IGF), convened by the United Nations (UN), is the largest global multi-stakeholder meeting on Internet policy dialogue and draws more than 3,500 participants from governments, civil society, private sector, and the technical community. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3gExVWv_us


Dave Sauter, Provost and Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs. The Registrar of the Future, in The Handbook of Strategic Enrollment Management; October 2014

Sandra Garner (American Studies Program) (2014). To Come to a Better Understanding: Complicating the "Two-Worlds" Trope (editors James Joseph Buss and C. Joe Genetin-Pilawa) SUNY Press


 John M. Jeep (German) was selected to participate in the 2015 Jack and Anita Hess Faculty Seminar: Using Film and Media to Teach about the Holocaust at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Jack, Joseph and Morton Mandel Center for Advanced Holocaust Studies, January 5–9, 2015. Jeep's proposal was one of 20 selected from 80 submissions from the USA and Canada.

 Theodore C Wagenaar (Sociology-Gerontology) has been invited to join the Measuring College Learning Outcomes Project, sponsored by the Social Science Research Council and funded by the Gates Foundation. The project seeks to establish learning outcomes and assessment mechanisms in six majors, including sociology. 

Clients will need to submit stories by emailing the News & Public Information Office at e-report@muohio.edu and they can contact the office by calling 529-7592.

© 2015 Miami University | 501 East High Street | Oxford, Ohio 45056 | 513.529.1809
Equal opportunity in education and employment | Privacy Statement
webmaster@muohio.edu | Accessibility problems? Contact odr@muohio.edu